New Club Champions

31 May 2017

Two new champions were crowned at Limewood’s annual Blitz evening:  Howard Brears and Bob Maltby.
Howard Brears  Bob Maltby

Howard Brears became Club Blitz Champion for 2017 with a highly impressive 7 wins out of 8 games.

Then a surprise new award was announced:  Player of the Year.  The winner was Bob Maltby.  His 12 games for the club this season have produced 9½ points, a success rate of over 79%, making him a very worthy winner.

Paul Smith

Paul Smith

Heartiest congratulations to both of them!

The Blitz competition was a great success – and fun – with all players cramming 8 games into the evening.  With a limit of 10 minutes on each game a time handicap evened up the chances.  Thus a high grade playing a low grade could have just 2 minutes allowed compared with 8 minutes for his opponent.

Play was fast and furious with no time to hang about and keeping a cool head in a sweltering room temperature was an advantage.  It was Howard who kept his cool best and emerged as the clear winner.  His only loss was to Paul Smith who was runner-up with 6 wins.

Howard Brears Blitz Champion 2017 01 Bob Maltby Player of the Year2016-7 01
The new champions receive their trophies from Paul May.

Next club evening is Wednesday 21 June.