New Champions

6 June 2018

Blitz Championship

A new Blitz Champion emerged at the Club’s Annual Blitz Championship tonight.
Tom Leah made a clean sweep of it with 8 wins from 8 games, despite carrying the severest time handicap, finishing 2 points clear of his nearest rival.

In so doing, Tom beat the record set by Howard Brears last year of 7 wins from 8 games.

Mick Carrigan took 2nd place with 6 wins.

Eric Brodie, Ian Carrigan and Barry Fulthorpe tied for 3rd place with 5 points apiece,

10 minutes was allowed for each game with the permitted time allocated between the players according to their grade.  Thus a high-graded player (such as Tom Leah or Paul May) might have only 2 minutes allowed compared with 8 minutes for their low-graded opponent.  Players of roughly similar grade to each other would have 5 minutes each.

As in previous years it was a good fun evening, organised by Paul May, and well-atttended with 13 players taking part and Twittermeister, Chris Tatham, observing as social media reporter.

Player of the Year


Also this evening, Eric Brodie was declared the Club’s Player of the Year. During the year he played 7 times for the Club, scoring 6 wins and 1 draw – a success rate of over 92%.  Another hard act to follow.

Congratulations to our new Champions and our thanks to all our members who made the evening – and indeed the whole year – such a success.




Return to top of page