Brilliant result from Team A

9 January 2019

Team A set their New Year off to a fine start with a brilliant result against Rose Forgrove’s own A Team, with 4 wins and a draw.

Tom Leah’s win at Board 1 against Warren Dennison was specially noteworthy – a real gem. It is now listed on our Best Games page and you can play through it here.

Congratulations to all the team: Tom, the trio of Pauls: Brencher, Johnson and May and Siefaldin Holi.

Our other teams had a more difficult time but there were still bright spots.

Chris Tatham won in Team B, playing the University’s A Team.

In Team C Ian Carrigan won his game and Howard Brears achieved a draw against Rose Forgrove D, the current Division leaders.

Team D were seriously outgraded on all boards but three of the team achieved a score in their match against Alwoodley D. Captain Steve Hodgson produced a win but arguably the best performance was from Paul Smith who was outgraded by a mere 66 points by his opponent, Ivor Timmis. Paul was a piece up going into the endgame with a good prospect of a win but, given the huge difference in grades and the greater experience of his opponent, he prudently decided to settle for a draw rather than risk all by pressing on.